Modern Masters [Metalwork and Jewellery]

09 Sep 2015 - 03 Oct 2015

Modern Masters [Metalwork & Jewellery] coincides with the opening of 'The Silversmith’s Art' at the National Museums Scotland (18th September 2015 - 4th January2016). The museum exhibition will showcase150 masterpieces made between 2000 -2015 by 66 contemporary Silversmiths. The core collection is from The Goldsmiths’Company, London. This ancient guild has supported the UK’s gold and silversmithing trades for over 700 years. Likewise, Edinburgh’s Incorporation of Goldsmiths has also supported the gold and silver trade since 1687. There are a number of events and initiatives coinciding with the museum exhibition, making this month collectively known as 'Silver September'. 'Modern Masters' includes a number of world class artists alongside emerging talent and will be the Scottish premiere of Giovanni Corvaja's 'The Golden Fleece Bracelet'.

Malcolm Appleby

Michael Becker

Giovanni Corvaja

Susan Cross

Koji Hatakeyama

Kathryn Hinton

Prof. Yasuki Hiramatsu

Adrian Hope

William Kirk

Michael Lloyd

Roger Millar

Jacqueline Mina

Grant McCaig

Cóilín Ó’Dubhghaill

Wendy Ramshaw

Jacqueline Ryan

Hiroshi Suzuki

Hazel Thorn

Adi Toch

Yusuke Yamamoto

 

Share |
Modern Masters (Metalwork and Jewellery)
Modern Masters (Metalwork and Jewellery)
Modern Masters (Metalwork and Jewellery) Lapis Lazuli Collar Michael Becker http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/michael_becker 2015 Au gold 750 and lapis lazuli L:56cm 12,900 Lapis Lazuli Bracelet Michael Becker http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/michael_becker 2015 Au gold 750 and lapis lazuli W:2cm L:18.5cm 12,850 ‘Two Hoops’ Neckpiece Susan Cross http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/susan_cross oxidised silver and 18ct gold L:55cm 1,960 The Golden Fleece Bracelet Giovanni Corvaja http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/giovanni_corvaja 2008 Fine wires of precious yellow metal and white precious metal granules W:5.5cm D:9cm Price on Application courtesy of Adrian Sassoon, London Eight Faces VII Koji Hatakeyama http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/koji_hatakeyama 2014 cast bronze W:12cm H:14cm D:12cm 2,300 Tomoaki Kanatani Faceted Silver Carafe Kathryn Hinton http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/kathryn_hinton 2014 Britannia Silver W:8cm H:29cm D:7cm 4,200 Crumpled Paper Brooch Professor Yasuki Hiramatsu http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/professor_yasuki_hiramatsu c.2006 22ct gold with enamel W:6.2cm 8,950 Crumpled Paper Brooch/Pendant Professor Yasuki Hiramatsu http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/professor_yasuki_hiramatsu c.2006 20ct & 23ct gold, resin, gold leaf W:1.5cm L:9cm 2,470 Joel Degen Two hammer raised silver vessels William Kirk http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/william_kirk 2003 W:14.2cm H:7.5cm 3,950 each (one available) Shannon Tofts ‘Ille terrarum mihi praeter omnes angulus ridet’ Michael Lloyd http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/michael_lloyd 2014 Hammered and chased silver with gilt interior H:6cm D:11.5cm 3,500 ‘Beech Leaves’ Beaker Michael Lloyd http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/michael_lloyd 2014 Raised and chased silver with gilt interior W:7cm H:7cm 2,995 ‘Oak Leaves’ Beaker Michael Lloyd http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/michael_lloyd 2014 Raised and chased silver with gilt interior W:7cm H:7cm 2,995 Condiment/Jam Pots Roger Millar http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/roger_millar 2014 Silver with Optic Glass Tumblers by Lindean Mill Glass H:10.5cm D:11cm 4,000 for the pair Forged Necklace and Pendant Jacqueline Mina http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/jacqueline_mina 2004 18ct gold with platinum fusion inlay and diamonds W:12.7cm L:10.5cm Price on Application Collection of ‘Wobbly’ Rings Jacqueline Mina http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/jacqueline_mina 2014 - 2015 18ct yellow gold, platinum, diamonds and grey moonstone Price on Application Please contact the gallery for individual prices and ring sizes Collection of Rings Jacqueline Mina http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/jacqueline_mina 18ct yellow gold and platinum tesserae fusion inlay Price on Application Please contact the gallery individual sizes and prices. Spoons with wooden handles Grant McCaig (Silversmithing) http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/grant_mccaig 2014 Silver, wooden handles L:26 - 34cm 210 each Silver Pleated Teapot Grant McCaig (Silversmithing) http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/grant_mccaig 2010 Silver with coral wood detail H:21cm D:15cm Price on Application Private Collection Tulipiere 3 Cóilín Ó Dubhghaill http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/coilin_o_dubhghaill 2015 Nickel plated copper W:33cm H:35cm D:18cm Price on Application ‘Green Goddess’ Ringset Wendy Ramshaw http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/wendy_ramshaw 2000 18ct yellow gold with a matt finish, emerald, carnelian, tourmaline, green garnet, clear acrylic stand 11,520 William Van Esland Ocean; Clam Collier Jacqueline Ryan http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/jacqueline_ryan 2014 18ct gold and enamel W:2cm H:43cm Price on Application Ocean; Open Clam Earrings I Jacqueline Ryan http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/jacqueline_ryan 2014 18ct gold and enamel W:2.1cm H:2.1cm D:1.3cm 950 Ocean; Open Clam Earrings II Jacqueline Ryan http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/jacqueline_ryan 2014 18ct gold and enamel W:2.1cm H:2.1cm D:1.3cm 950 Earth III-so Hiroshi Suzuki http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/hiroshi_suzuki1 2010 Hammer-raised and chased fine silver H:31cm D:28.5cm Price on Application courtesy of Adrian Sassoon, London Aqua-Poesy XI Mini Vase Hiroshi Suzuki http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/hiroshi_suzuki1 2013 Hammer-raised and chased fine silver 999 H:22cm D:11.5cm Price on Application courtesy of Adrian Sassoon, London A Pair of Terra P Dom Beakers Hiroshi Suzuki http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/hiroshi_suzuki1 2013 Hammer-raised and chased fine silver 999 H:8.5cm D:8.5cm Price on Application courtesy of Adrian Sassoon, London Fractured Hazel Thorn http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/hazel_thorn 2014 Britannia silver and gilding metal W:16cm H:20cm D:12cm 2,600 Shannon Tofts ‘Wrapped Birch’ Bowl Hazel Thorn http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/hazel_thorn 2015 Britannia silver and gilding metal H:8cm D:16cm 2,800 Shannon Tofts Patinated Whispering Vessel Adi Toch http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/adi_toch 2015 patina on silver plated base metal with steel balls contained inside H:10cm D:19cm 2,100 Odi Caspi Sweet Squama Yusuke Yamamoto http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/yusuke_yamamoto 2015 Hammer-raised and chased fine silver W:14cm H:9cm 2,800 Enamel Arctic & Antarctic Beakers I & II (left to right) Malcolm Appleby http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/malcolm_appleby 2014 Britannia silver and enamel. Enamelling by Jane Short H:10.5cm D:7.6cm 9,800 each Philippa Swann Silver Engraved Brooch Malcolm Appleby Jewellery http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/malcolm_appleby_jewellery 2014 W:8cm H:4.8cm 2,140 Philippa Swann Large Stone Vase Adrian Hope http://www.scottish-gallery.co.uk/artist/adrian_hope 2015 Silver H:25.5cm D:19cm 6,500